Not starting...Not sure why

Electrical, charging system, batteries, etc.
Winches, jacks, tow gear, welders, lights, etc.

Moderator: Bfix Staff Members

lca'73
BFix Starter
BFix Starter

Not starting...Not sure why

Post by lca'73 » Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:36 pm

Hello! I'm quite new at this, so forgive any obvious ignorance. I just bought my first Bronco about 3 weeks ago. It's a '73 302 C4 in great shape so I had hoped to drive it as I restore it.

Drove it home (1.5 hr drive) and it did great despite my inability to determine how fast I was going and whether or not I was about to run out of gas. So I drove it straight to my resto guy for a safety fix/check until I can learn a bit more and do it myself. He covered the bare minimum for safe driving and little needed to be done. PO had replaced some things here and there, which helped.

Three days ago I got the fist chance to look it over, drive it again and get more familiar. Drove it around the neighborhood and parked it in the driveway. Here's what happened over the next 72 hrs:
  • Wouldn't start
    Found pinhole in fuel line at carb / fixed it. Ran great.
    Next day wouldn't start - no sound at all
    Found a loose distributor wire, tried again - started / died
    Tried to start it again x 2 and the battery died
    Jumped the battery but realized it sounded like it had flooded - left it alone
    Chased my tail all day between what I think was flooding and dead battery
    Got mad...left it alone for a very long time
    Charged battery for an hour (nearly 100%) and husband poured about 1 tbls of gas in carb
    STARTED!!!
    Took it out in the neighborhood / died
    Tried to start it - no sound
    Tried again - started right up / took off / died
    Rinse and repeat x about 5 until I made it back to the driveway.
Any ideas?

It has a new solenoid and there is no corrosion on the battery and cables are new. Not seeing any issues with loose wiring.